Xingu Hill - Strange Echoes 95 - 99


Catalog number


Release Date
June 28, 2021
Dance Electronic
Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
  1. Fake Life
  2. Automatic Citizens
  3. The Conquistador Closes His Eyes
  4. Last Rites
  5. Angel Catcher
  6. Ice
  7. Shockwave
  8. Surrender

Strange Echoes 95 - 99 is music that woke up yesterday bearing a message for tomorrow. Excavated from the late-90s and largely rematerialising for the first time on vinyl, the album carries a selection of sonic diamonds by bona fide sound experimenter Xingu Hill (John Sellekaers). The fully remastered tracks pull the curtain back two decades to offer a snapshot of a prolific five-year period in Sellekaers' expansive soundverse, which runs the gamut from brain-bending, emotive ambient outings to driving, acerbic industrial experiments. Timeless music for keeps in the age of disposables; a reference to early rave and trip-hop aesthetics that could just as very well be one music clairvoyant's nostalgia-inspired preview of things to come.